Topic: Surgery not possible, but still hopeful for the future.

As I sit here today, I find myself more hopeful than I have been in a while about the future possibilites.  I am sure it has a lot to do with the fact that my wife is in an ok spot for now (good response to chemo and finally feeling better after IMRT radiation).  However, I think my rationale for hope is more than just her current situation.  After thinking about it a bit, here is what I came up with:

Word of warning if you read this essay.  I am not a doctor nor am I a medical researcher.  The following are my views and could very well be biased, skewed, or flat out wrong.  I did go from a point of virtually no hope to one of being cautiously hopeful.  I believe that having hope is hugely important, so I wanted to write this up in case it helps someone else acquire hope.

Background

My wife was diagnosed on April 1, 2013 with inoperable intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (ICC) -- one main 9cm lesion, two medium 4cm lesions and a constellation of smaller lesions all contained in the liver.  While not in the field of medicine, I am a researcher by nature and profession, so of course I dove into the medical research with both feet.  How depressing.  Virtually every research article begins with this type of refrain:  ICC is a rare disease with few treatment options and a poor prognosis.  Most articles will also mention that surgery is the only curative option.  Well, my wife is not a surgery candidate, and probably never will be.  Even so, after helping my wife through treatment and continuing the research effort for the last 13 months, I am actually somewhat hopeful. I wanted to write up why I feel this way to help others that might be feeling hopeless.

Why am I hopeful?  In a word, TIME.